Plan comparison · Independent broker view 2026

Cigna Global vs Allianz Care vs Bupa Global (2026): Plans, Limits and Who Each Suits

Compare Cigna Global, Allianz Care and Bupa Global using the policy offered for your country of residence. Each insurer has several plan levels, with its own benefit limits and optional cover. Start by matching the area of treatment and deductible. Then check how the proposed plan handles outpatient care and existing medical conditions. Family buyers should read the maternity waiting period and newborn enrolment rules in the current policy documents. The table below gives a starting point, with separate sections for Cigna vs Allianz Care and Bupa vs Allianz Care. Bupa figures here refer to its UK plans. Allianz's current product page and November 2025 benefit guide replace the older material used in the earlier edition. Elev8 checks country eligibility and the insurer relationship before it offers a quote. The final policy wording and any personal underwriting terms control the cover.

Published by Elev8 Insurance · Updated 5 October 2026

01 / Comparison table

How do Cigna Global, Allianz Care and Bupa Global compare on the benefits that matter?

Each row uses the insurer’s own document: Cigna Global’s benefits summary and plans page, Allianz Care’s international healthcare plans page with its published table of benefits, and Bupa Global’s United Kingdom plan comparison. Currencies follow the source. Where a figure is not published, the cell says so rather than guessing.

Scroll the table sideways to read all columns.

Individual international medical plans compared on published terms, checked 8 September 2026
Benefit headCigna GlobalAllianz CareBupa Global (UK plans)
Plan tiersSilver, Gold, Platinum; Close Care for residence-country coverCare Base, Care Enhanced, Care SignatureMajor Medical, Select, Premier, Elite
Annual maximumUS$1,000,000 / US$2,000,000 / paid in full; Close Care US$500,000US$1,350,000 / US$2,700,000 / US$5,000,000 (£830,000 / £1,660,000 / £3,100,000)Select £1,000,000; Premier £1,500,000; Major Medical £2,000,000; Elite £3,000,000
Hospital accommodationPrivate room on all three tiers; semi-private on Close CarePrivate room on all core plansPrivate room on all plans
Outpatient coverOptional International Outpatient module: US$15,000 / US$35,000 / paid in fullOptional outpatient cover. Confirm the current limits on the Table of Benefits for your quote.Included on Select, Premier and Elite; Major Medical is inpatient-led. Health checks £750 / £1,250 / £1,500; vaccinations £200 / £500 / £1,000
MaternityRoutine maternity Gold US$7,000, Platinum US$14,000, not on Silver; 12-month wait (24 months for Hong Kong and Singapore)Included on Care Enhanced and Care Signature. Confirm limits and waiting periods on the current Table of Benefits.Covered after the mother has been on the plan for 18 months; limits noted on Elite
Mental health, inpatientUS$5,000 up to 30 days / US$10,000 up to 60 days / paid in full up to 90 daysPsychiatry and psychotherapy covered inpatient and day-care on all core plansCovered inpatient and day-patient; limitations on Select and Premier
CancerCancer care covered on all tiers; preventative surgery 70% / 80% / 90% refund up to US$10,000 / US$18,000 / US$18,000Oncology covered inpatient, day-care and outpatient on all core plans; preventative surgery on the top planPlanning and treatment covered on all plans, including chemotherapy, radiotherapy and imaging
Evacuation and repatriationOptional International Medical Evacuation module, paid in full on all tiersMedical evacuation included in every core plan; optional Repatriation Plan adds treatment in the home countryIncluded on all plans
Area of coverWorldwide or Worldwide excluding USAWorldwide, Worldwide excluding USA, Africa or EuropeMajor Medical: worldwide or worldwide without US; other plans add a Europe option
Emergency cover outside the areaOut-of-area emergency hospitalisation US$100,000 / US$250,000 / covered for members without USA coverEmergency treatment outside the area for trips of up to six weeks, maximum 42 daysNot stated in the comparison
Deductible or excessUS$0, 375, 750, 1,500, 3,000, 7,500 or 10,000; cost share 0% to 30%; out-of-pocket maximum US$2,000 or US$5,000Ask for the current deductible and outpatient options for the quoted plan.A variety of deductibles offered; amounts not published on the comparison page
Age limitsNo upper age limit for applications; guaranteed renewabilityNot on the insurer’s page; a distributor states up to 69 to apply onlineNot published in the sources checked
UnderwritingMedical questionnaire; 60+ Care option for declared ongoing conditionsFull medical underwriting or a moratorium with no questionnaire and a 24-month rolling periodPre-existing conditions “could be covered, subject to underwriting”
Home-country coverA distributor states up to 180 days a year in the country of nationalityRepatriation Plan allows treatment at home when it is inside the area of coverNot stated in the comparison
Network and claimsGlobal telehealth included; direct settlement through the Cigna networkMyHealth app for claims. Check the provider network for your location.Network of more than 2 million practitioners; MembersWorld app for pre-authorisation and claims

Limits above are the published maxima for the stated tier and currency; sub-limits, waiting periods and exclusions apply to individual benefits. The sections below explain what sits behind each column.

02 / Cigna Global

What does Cigna Global’s plan structure look like?

Cigna Global Health Options is a core plan, International Medical Insurance, sold in three tiers with four optional modules: International Outpatient, International Medical Evacuation, International Health and Wellbeing, and International Vision and Dental. Silver carries a US$1,000,000 annual maximum, Gold US$2,000,000 and Platinum is paid in full. All three give a private room, cover cancer care in full up to the annual maximum, and include an out-of-area emergency hospitalisation benefit of US$100,000, US$250,000 or paid in full for members who chose Worldwide excluding USA. Inpatient mental health is where the tiers separate sharply: US$5,000 for up to 30 days on Silver, US$10,000 for 60 days on Gold, paid in full for 90 days on Platinum.

Maternity is a tier decision. Silver has none. Gold pays US$7,000 for routine maternity and US$14,000 for complications; Platinum pays US$14,000 and US$28,000, with newborn care of US$75,000 and US$156,000 respectively. The waiting period is 12 months, or 24 months for treatment in Hong Kong or Singapore. The outpatient module adds US$15,000, US$35,000 or paid in full a year, and includes a 60+ Care allowance of US$500, US$1,000 or US$2,000 for members aged 60 and over with declared ongoing conditions.

Two features are distinctive. The deductible ladder runs from US$0 to US$10,000 in seven steps, combined with a cost share of 0%, 10%, 20% or 30% and an out-of-pocket maximum of US$2,000 or US$5,000, which gives the most ways to shape the premium of the three. And Cigna Global publishes no upper age limit for new applicants, with guaranteed renewability and premiums that are not based on claims history; the guide to expat health insurance over 60 sets that beside other insurers’ entry ages. Close Care, a separate plan limited to the country of residence and country of nationality, carries a US$500,000 maximum and a semi-private room.

03 / Allianz Care

What does Allianz Care publish for its current plans?

Allianz lists Care Base, Care Enhanced and Care Signature with annual maximum benefits of US$1,350,000, US$2,700,000 and US$5,000,000. Its current page includes maternity within Care Enhanced and Care Signature. Outpatient and dental cover are optional.

Use the benefit guide valid from November 2025 with the Table of Benefits supplied for your quote. That table identifies waiting periods and selected limits. Under moratorium terms, a pre-existing condition needs a continuous 24-month period that meets the stated symptom and treatment conditions before it can become eligible.

Ask for a written schedule of deductibles, exclusions and terms for treatment outside the selected area. Confirm the plan offered for your residence before comparing it with another insurer.

04 / Bupa Global

What does Bupa Global’s plan structure look like?

Bupa Global’s plans for UK residents are Major Medical, Select, Premier and Elite. The annual limits do not rise in name order: Select carries £1,000,000, Premier £1,500,000, Major Medical £2,000,000 and Elite £3,000,000. Major Medical is the inpatient-led plan with the higher catastrophic limit; Select, Premier and Elite add outpatient consultations without referral, health checks (£750, £1,250 and £1,500), vaccinations (£200, £500 and £1,000) and, on Elite, assisted fertility treatment of up to £6,000 a policy year. All four include private hospital rooms, cancer planning and treatment, inpatient and day-patient mental health (with limitations on Select and Premier), 30 days of home nursing, rehabilitation of 45, 30, 30 and 60 days respectively, and evacuation and repatriation.

Two points separate Bupa Global from the other two. Pregnancy and childbirth, including complications and Caesarean sections, are covered after the mother has been on the plan for 18 months, the longest wait of the three, with limitations noted on Elite; check the brochure for which tiers include it. And Select, Premier and Elite offer a Europe-only area of cover alongside worldwide and worldwide without the US, which suits people who will not leave the continent.

Bupa Global states that pre-existing conditions “could be covered, subject to underwriting” and offers “a variety of deductibles”, but the comparison page does not publish the deductible amounts or an entry age; the brochure for your country of residence carries them. Its network exceeds 2 million practitioners with direct settlement inside the network, and the MembersWorld app handles pre-authorisation and claims. Because Bupa Global sells country-specific plan sets, the limits above apply to UK residents; residents of other countries see different plan names and limits.

05 / Head to head

How do the pairs compare?

Cigna vs Allianz Care: the key differences

Cigna Global gives you more ways to shape the premium; Allianz Care gives higher annual limits per tier and builds evacuation into every core plan. Cigna Global caps Silver at US$1,000,000 and Gold at US$2,000,000 and pays Platinum in full. Allianz Care Base, Care Enhanced and Care Signature carry US$1,350,000, US$2,700,000 and US$5,000,000. Cigna sells outpatient and medical evacuation as optional modules. Allianz includes evacuation in each core plan and sells outpatient separately. Cigna publishes seven deductible steps from US$0 to US$10,000, a cost share of 0% to 30%, an out-of-pocket maximum of US$2,000 or US$5,000, and no upper age limit for new applicants. Allianz offers full medical underwriting or a 24-month moratorium with no health questionnaire. Maternity sits on Cigna Gold and Platinum after a 12-month wait, and on Allianz Care Enhanced and Care Signature; read the Allianz waiting period on the Table of Benefits for your quote.

Cigna Global vs Allianz Care at a glance (published terms; check your quote)
Point of differenceCigna GlobalAllianz Care
Annual maximum by tierUS$1m / US$2m / paid in fullUS$1.35m / US$2.7m / US$5m
Medical evacuationOptional moduleIncluded in every core plan
OutpatientOptional module: US$15,000 / US$35,000 / paid in fullOptional outpatient plan
Premium leversUS$0–10,000 deductible, 0–30% cost share, out-of-pocket capDeductible options on the quoted plan
UnderwritingMedical questionnaire; 60+ Care optionFull medical underwriting or 24-month moratorium
Emergency outside your areaUS$100,000 / US$250,000 / covered (Worldwide excl. USA)Trips of up to six weeks, maximum 42 days
Age at applicationNo upper age limit publishedNot on the insurer’s page; a distributor states up to 69 online

Cigna Global may suit applicants who want to trade a higher deductible for a lower premium, or who are over 60. Allianz Care may suit buyers who want evacuation built in and a moratorium instead of a medical questionnaire.

Bupa Global vs Cigna Global

Bupa Global’s limits are set per country of residence and topped by Elite at £3,000,000, while Cigna Global’s Platinum is paid in full. Cigna Global publishes its full benefit table, deductible ladder and age policy on its global site; Bupa Global’s UK comparison publishes tier limits and a handful of sub-limits but leaves deductibles and entry ages to the brochure. Maternity waits are 12 months against 18. Bupa Global’s Europe-only area has no Cigna Global equivalent except the residence-country Close Care plan. For someone who wants published numbers before speaking to anyone, Cigna Global is the easier read; for a European resident who values a large direct-settlement network and a Europe-only price, Bupa Global belongs on the shortlist.

Bupa vs Allianz Care: the key differences

Bupa Global builds outpatient care and health checks into most of its plans; Allianz Care sells outpatient separately and offers higher top-tier limits. For UK residents, Bupa Global’s limits run from £1,000,000 on Select to £3,000,000 on Elite, with Major Medical at £2,000,000 as inpatient-led cover. Allianz Care’s three core plans carry US$1,350,000, US$2,700,000 and US$5,000,000, about £830,000, £1,660,000 and £3,100,000. Select, Premier and Elite include outpatient consultations, health checks of £750 to £1,500 and vaccinations of £200 to £1,000. Both insurers include medical evacuation on every core plan. Bupa covers maternity once the mother has been on the plan for 18 months. Allianz includes maternity on Care Enhanced and Care Signature, with the wait set out in its Table of Benefits. Allianz offers a 24-month moratorium as an alternative to full medical underwriting; Bupa says pre-existing conditions could be covered, subject to underwriting.

Bupa Global (UK plans) vs Allianz Care at a glance
Point of differenceBupa Global (UK plans)Allianz Care
Annual maximum£1m (Select) to £3m (Elite); Major Medical £2mUS$1.35m / US$2.7m / US$5m
Outpatient and health checksIncluded on Select, Premier and EliteOptional outpatient plan
MaternityAfter 18 months on the planCare Enhanced and Care Signature; wait on the Table of Benefits
UnderwritingPre-existing conditions “could be covered, subject to underwriting”Full medical underwriting or 24-month moratorium
Regional areasEurope option on Select, Premier and EliteEurope and Africa areas
Network and claimsMore than 2 million practitioners; MembersWorld appMyHealth app; check the network for your location

Comparing Bupa in Hong Kong or another country with Allianz? Bupa sells different local products by market, so ask for the plan offered where you live before comparing limits.

06 / Who suits which

Which insurer suits which profile?

  • Families planning a pregnancy: obtain the maternity waiting period and newborn enrolment conditions for the exact plan offered. Read the international family health insurance guide before preparing the quote request.
  • Anyone who needs US treatment: all three sell a worldwide area that includes the USA at a much higher premium; the expat health insurance cost guide records the published multiples. Cigna Global’s out-of-area emergency benefit and the 180-day home-country allowance a distributor reports matter to Americans who choose Worldwide excluding USA; see health insurance for Americans living abroad.
  • Country eligibility: confirm the insurer and product available for your residence. The Elev8 country list shows where its brokerage handles enquiries. The GCC guide is an educational reference for rules that local providers must confirm.
  • Budget-led buyers: Cigna Global Silver with a high deductible and cost share, Allianz Care Care Base with a core deductible, or Bupa Global Major Medical as inpatient-led cover are the entry points. Do not cut the annual limit or evacuation to save money; cut outpatient extras first.
  • Applicants over 60: Cigna Global publishes no upper age limit and a 60+ Care allowance; Allianz Care’s distributor-stated ceiling is 69; Bupa Global does not publish one. The over-60 guide sets these beside William Russell, APRIL International and Now Health.
  • Europe-only residents: Allianz Care and Bupa Global both sell a Europe area of cover; Cigna Global does not, other than through the residence-country Close Care plan.
07 / How we compared

How does an independent broker compare these three?

We took the same benefit heads for each insurer, read the figure from the insurer’s own document, recorded the tier and currency it applies to, and wrote “not published” where the document was silent rather than filling the gap from a third party. Where only a distributor publishes a figure, such as Allianz Care’s entry age or Cigna Global’s home-country days, the table says so. We did not rank the insurers or award scores; the right plan depends on your residence, your area of cover, your health history and the options you need.

Elev8 Insurance is an independent brokerage. The insurers available to you depend on your country of residence, and we confirm current terms with the insurer before any recommendation. When you request quotes, ask each insurer for the same tier equivalence, the same area of cover, the same deductible and the same modules, then record the answers in the international health insurance decision matrix. The expat health insurance comparison guide explains the method in full, and existing policyholders can have their current plan checked against these three through a policy review.

08 / FAQ

Cigna Global, Allianz Care and Bupa Global questions

Which is better, Cigna Global or Allianz Care?

Neither is better for everyone. Cigna Global gives more ways to shape the premium, with deductibles from US$0 to US$10,000 and a 0% to 30% cost share, and publishes no upper age limit for applicants. Allianz Care has higher annual limits per tier, from US$1.35m to US$5m, includes medical evacuation in every core plan and offers a 24-month moratorium instead of a medical questionnaire. Compare quotes for the same residence, area of cover and deductible.

What is the difference between Bupa Global and Allianz Care?

For UK residents, Bupa Global includes outpatient consultations, health checks and vaccinations on Select, Premier and Elite, with annual limits from £1m to £3m and maternity after 18 months on the plan. Allianz Care sells outpatient as an optional plan, carries limits of US$1.35m to US$5m and includes maternity on Care Enhanced and Care Signature. Both include medical evacuation on every core plan.

What are the annual limits for Cigna Global, Allianz Care and Bupa Global?

Cigna Global: US$1,000,000 (Silver), US$2,000,000 (Gold), paid in full (Platinum). Allianz Care: US$1,350,000 (Care Base), US$2,700,000 (Care Enhanced), US$5,000,000 (Care Signature). Bupa Global UK plans: £1,000,000 (Select), £1,500,000 (Premier), £2,000,000 (Major Medical), £3,000,000 (Elite).

How long are the maternity waiting periods?

Cigna and Bupa publish waiting periods for selected maternity benefits. Allianz identifies the waiting periods on the current Table of Benefits. Ask for that document for the exact plan and country before comparing the start of maternity cover.

Which of the three has no upper age limit?

Cigna Global states that it welcomes applications at any age and guarantees renewability. Allianz Care’s insurer page does not state an age; a distributor lists 69 as the maximum to apply online. Bupa Global does not publish an entry age in the sources checked.

Do these plans cover the USA?

All three sell a worldwide area that includes the USA at a higher premium and a worldwide area that excludes it. Cigna Global adds out-of-area emergency hospitalisation of US$100,000, US$250,000 or paid in full for members without USA cover, and Allianz Care covers emergencies outside the area for trips of up to six weeks.

What deductibles can I choose?

Cigna Global offers US$0, 375, 750, 1,500, 3,000, 7,500 or 10,000, plus a 0% to 30% cost share with an out-of-pocket maximum of US$2,000 or US$5,000. Allianz Care’s published ladder runs from US$610 to US$13,500 with premium discounts of 5% to 60%, or an outpatient co-payment instead. Bupa Global offers a variety of deductibles but does not publish the amounts on its comparison page.

Can a broker quote all three?

Availability depends on your country of residence and each insurer’s licensing there. Elev8 Insurance requests terms from the insurers that can cover your circumstances and presents them on the same basis, then confirms the current table of benefits with the insurer before recommending anything.

09 / Sources

Sources

All figures are the insurers’ published maxima for the stated tier, currency and document date. Sub-limits, waiting periods and exclusions apply. Plan names and limits change at each policy year and differ by country of residence. Elev8 Insurance is an independent international insurance brokerage; the insurers available to you depend on where you live, and current terms are confirmed with the insurer before any recommendation.

Compare the three on your own profile

Tell us where you live, your area of cover, the deductible you can carry and the options you need. We request Cigna Global, Allianz Care and Bupa Global terms where each is available to you and set them side by side.

Get like-for-like quotes