Retirees and over-60s · Expat health insurance guide 2026
Expat Health Insurance Over 60: Retiring Abroad in 2026
Expat health insurance is available after 60, but the choice of insurer narrows with each birthday and the price steps up at each age band. Cigna Global publishes no upper age limit for new applicants. William Russell accepts new members under 76, APRIL International up to 70, and broker listings put Allianz Care at 69 and Now Health International at 79. Every one of these renews for life once you are a member, which is why the year you buy matters more than the year you retire. On price, Feather’s June 2026 figures for a 65-to-69-year-old run from €335 a month in Mexico to €559 in Spain and €1,676 with US cover, and AXA quotes an 80-year-old on its top plan at upwards of £40,000 a year. This guide records the published entry ages, age-band prices, chronic-condition terms and home-country entitlements so you can decide when and what to buy.
What changes when you buy expat health insurance after 60?
Three things change. First, entry ages. Most international insurers set a maximum age for new applicants, commonly 60, 65 or 70, as Feather notes in its 2026 seniors guide; a few publish no limit. Second, the price. Insurers price in age bands, and the bands after 60 are the steepest. Third, underwriting. Medical history matters more, so the choice between full medical underwriting and a moratorium decides what a plan will pay for in its first years.
One rule works in your favour. Every insurer in this guide renews an existing member for life, whatever happens to their health after joining. William Russell states that members can renew “for as long as they require, even if their health deteriorates”. Cigna Global guarantees renewability and states that future premiums are not based on claims history. Buying before a birthday that crosses an entry-age limit keeps every later renewal open.
The guide to expat health insurance cost explains the general pricing factors. This page concentrates on what is specific to buyers over 60.
How much does expat health insurance cost after 60?
Published figures are scarce above 60, which is why the ones that exist matter. Each row records the insurer, the plan, the area of cover and the date, so you can compare like with like. They are representative prices, not offers.
Scroll the table sideways to read all columns.
| Age | Insurer and plan | Area of cover | Premium | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 65 to 69 | Feather, Standard | Mexico or Costa Rica | From €335 a month | June 2026 |
| 65 to 69 | Feather, Standard | Spain or Portugal | From €559 a month | June 2026 |
| 65 to 69 | Feather, Standard | Any destination, US cover included | From €1,676 a month | June 2026 |
| 80 | AXA Global Healthcare, Prestige Plus | Living in the UK | Upwards of £40,000 a year | 2026, insurer’s sales team estimate |
| 41, for comparison | William Russell, Silver, US$250 excess | Zone 2, USA to Malaysia | US$2,517 a year, the insurer’s 2026 average | 2026 |
| 30, for comparison | AXA Global Healthcare, Prestige Plus, zero excess | Living in the UK | £11,281.56 a year | May 2026 |
Two lessons follow. The destination and the US decision move the price more than any plan option: the same Feather plan for the same age band costs five times more with US cover than in Mexico. And the top tiers become very expensive at advanced ages: AXA’s 80-year-old figure is almost four times its own 30-year-old price on the same plan. Retirees who want to control cost usually take a strong inpatient core, exclude the USA, and accept a higher excess, rather than dropping the annual limit.
Cigna Global offers a 10% discount on its Senior bundle for members aged 60 and over. Discounts are applied to the insurer’s own rate, so compare the discounted quote against other insurers’ full quotes rather than assuming it is cheaper.
Which insurers accept new members over 60, 65, 70 and beyond?
The table records the maximum age for a new individual applicant as published on the insurer’s own pages, or where the insurer does not publish it, as stated by an appointed distributor with the source named. Group schemes and country-specific plans may differ.
Scroll the table sideways to read all columns.
| Insurer | Maximum age for new members | Renewal after joining | Older-age features published | Source type |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cigna Global | No upper age limit; “we welcome applications up to any age” | Guaranteed renewability; premiums not based on claims history | 60+ Care option for some ongoing conditions including autoimmune disease, arthritis, type 2 diabetes, glaucoma, joint and back pain and hypertension; 10% Senior bundle discount | Insurer page |
| William Russell | Under 76 at application | Renew for life, even if health deteriorates | Life cover: new members under 70; income protection: separate, lower limits | Insurer FAQ |
| APRIL International | 70 for new customers | Not stated on the plan page | Moratorium option without a medical questionnaire for applicants under 65; pre-existing conditions need an add-on | Insurer page |
| Allianz Care | Up to 69 to quote and apply online | Not stated in the source | Core, Core Plus and Core Pro plan levels | Distributor page (Expat Financial) |
| Now Health International, WorldCare | Under 80 at entry (maximum entry age 79) | Not stated in the source | Not stated | Distributor page (International Citizens Insurance), verified by that distributor in February 2026 |
| Bupa Global | Not published in the sources checked | Not published in the sources checked | Major Medical, Select, Premier and Elite tiers in 2026, per a broker guide | Broker guide (Wecovr) |
Two insurers, Cigna Global and William Russell, publish their own age rules for individuals; the rest rely on distributors. Where the table says “distributor page”, ask the insurer to confirm the age rule in writing before you plan around it. If you already hold a policy and are approaching one of these ages, keep it: a renewal review is the safer route than a switch that may be refused.
How are chronic and pre-existing conditions handled after 60?
Most applicants over 60 have something to declare, so the underwriting method decides more than the plan tier. Allianz Care describes the two methods. Under full medical underwriting you disclose your history in a questionnaire and the insurer sets terms up front, which may include exclusions or a surcharge; you know from the start what is and is not covered, and claims are processed faster. Under a moratorium there is no questionnaire; conditions from the two years before the start date are excluded until you have completed a rolling 24-month period free of symptoms, treatment, medication and follow-up for them, and each claim is checked against your history. Read Allianz Care’s explanation.
For an older applicant with a controlled condition such as hypertension, full medical underwriting is usually the better route, because a moratorium may never lift on a condition that needs continuous medication. APRIL International’s plan page states that its long-term plan “is not intended to provide cover for medical conditions that have been in existence in the two years immediately prior to its start date” and that cover for pre-existing conditions requires an add-on benefit; its moratorium route is available only to applicants under 65.
Cigna Global takes a different approach with its 60+ Care option, which provides treatment of some ongoing, recurring and long-term conditions for members aged 60 and over who declare qualifying conditions on the medical questionnaire. The published list includes autoimmune diseases, arthritis, type 2 diabetes, glaucoma, joint and back pain and hypertension. Ask for the exact conditions, limits and any waiting period in writing. See Cigna Global’s seniors page.
Whatever the route, declare everything. Non-disclosure is the most common reason an insurer rejects a claim, and it is discovered when the claim is largest. The decision matrix has a row for recording each insurer’s underwriting terms side by side.
What happens to Medicare and the NHS when you retire abroad?
Americans. Medicare usually does not pay for care outside the United States and its territories; the exceptions are narrow emergencies near the border, transit through Canada and cruise ships within six hours of a US port. Medicare drug plans do not cover prescriptions bought abroad. If you delay Part B while abroad without qualifying employer cover, the premium rises 10% for each full 12-month period you could have had it, for as long as you hold Part B. The guide to health insurance for Americans living abroad sets out the keep-or-drop decision and the enrolment windows when you return.
UK nationals. The NHS is residence-based; move abroad permanently and you are no longer automatically entitled to NHS treatment. If you receive a UK State Pension and live in an EU country, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland, you and your dependants may be entitled to an S1, under which the UK pays for your state healthcare in that country; you cannot get an S1 if you also receive a state pension from the country you live in. The NHS also warns that foreign systems “might not include services you’d expect to get free on the NHS” and that you may need to take out health insurance. Read the NHS guidance on moving abroad.
Everyone else. Check whether your home system keeps covering you abroad, whether the destination lets residents join its public system, and what the public system excludes. Many residence visas for retirees require proof of private health insurance before the permit is issued; confirm the exact wording with the consulate, since some require cover bought from a locally authorised insurer with no excess, which an international plan may not satisfy.
Does international health insurance cover long-term or chronic care?
International health insurance pays for medical treatment: hospital admissions, surgery, cancer therapy, specialist and, if selected, outpatient care. It does not pay for custodial or long-term care, meaning help with daily living in a care home or at home, and most plans limit rehabilitation and exclude conditions that predate the policy unless underwritten in. Chronic conditions are covered where the policy says so; the 60+ Care example above shows the pattern, with a named list of conditions and limits, rather than open-ended cover.
Retirees therefore plan long-term care separately, from savings, from a long-term care policy bought in the home country while still eligible, or from destination-country provision. The long-term care options guide covers the choices. Income protection ends at 65 on the published plans, so it does not bridge this gap either; see expat disability insurance and life cover for the age rules.
Nine questions to ask before you apply after 60
- What is the maximum entry age for this plan in my country of residence, and is it in writing?
- Is renewal guaranteed for life, and are renewal premiums affected by my claims?
- Which age bands does the pricing use, and what is the step at my next band?
- Full medical underwriting or moratorium: what exactly is excluded, and for how long?
- Which of my current conditions and medicines are covered, and with what limits?
- Does the plan cover the USA, and if not, how many emergency days per trip does it allow there?
- What excess options exist, and how much does each save on my quote?
- Does the plan satisfy my destination’s residence-visa requirement, and can the insurer issue the certificate the consulate asks for?
- What happens to cover if I move to a third country or return home?
Ask each insurer the same nine questions and record the answers beside the quotes. If the comparison is unclear, the expat health insurance comparison guide explains how to hold the variables constant, and Elev8 Insurance can request the written answers for you.
Expat health insurance over 60: questions
Can I get expat health insurance at 70?
Yes. Cigna Global publishes no upper age limit, William Russell accepts new members under 76, APRIL International accepts new customers to 70, and distributor pages state 69 for Allianz Care and 79 for Now Health International. Once you are a member, these plans renew for life.
Can I get expat health insurance at 80?
Cigna Global states it welcomes applications at any age. Most other insurers close to new members between 70 and 79, so an applicant at 80 has fewer choices and should expect a high premium: AXA quotes an 80-year-old on its top plan at upwards of £40,000 a year.
How much does health insurance for retirees living abroad cost?
Feather’s June 2026 figures for a 65-to-69-year-old on its Standard plan are from €335 a month in Mexico or Costa Rica, from €559 in Spain or Portugal, and from €1,676 with US cover included. Prices step up at each age band after that.
Does expat health insurance cover pre-existing conditions after 60?
Only where the insurer agrees. Under full medical underwriting the insurer may cover, exclude or surcharge each declared condition. Under a moratorium, conditions from the previous two years are excluded until a rolling 24-month symptom-free period is completed. Cigna Global’s 60+ Care option covers a published list of ongoing conditions for members aged 60 and over.
Does Medicare cover me if I retire abroad?
Almost never outside the United States and its territories. Delaying Part B without qualifying employer cover adds a 10% penalty per 12-month period for as long as you hold it. Most retirees abroad buy an international plan and decide separately whether to keep Part B for trips home.
Do UK pensioners get free healthcare in Spain or Portugal?
UK State Pension recipients living in an EU country may be entitled to an S1, under which the UK funds their state healthcare there, unless they also receive a state pension from the country of residence. State cover may still exclude services free on the NHS, so many pensioners hold private cover as well.
Does international health insurance pay for a care home?
No. International plans pay for medical treatment, not custodial or long-term care. Long-term care needs a separate plan or savings.
Sources
- Cigna Global, International health insurance for seniors over 60, accessed 8 September 2026. No upper age limit; 60+ Care conditions; 10% Senior bundle discount; guaranteed renewability.
- William Russell, Do the plans have age limits?, accessed 8 September 2026. New health members under 76; renew for life; life cover new members under 70.
- APRIL International, Long-term international health insurance plan, accessed 8 September 2026. Maximum age 70 for new customers; moratorium under 65; pre-existing condition add-on.
- Expat Financial, Allianz international health insurance (distributor page), accessed 8 September 2026. Individuals up to 69 can quote and apply online.
- International Citizens Insurance, Now Health WorldCare plan (distributor page), accessed 8 September 2026. Maximum entry age 79.
- Wecovr, Bupa Global health insurance IPMI guide 2026 (broker guide, 25 August 2026), accessed 8 September 2026. Tier names; underwriting options.
- Feather, International health insurance for seniors: 2026 guide, 3 June 2026, accessed 8 September 2026. 65-to-69 prices; entry-age caution.
- AXA Global Healthcare, What does international health insurance cost?, accessed 8 September 2026. 80-year-old and 30-year-old Prestige Plus figures.
- William Russell, How much does average expat health insurance cost?, accessed 8 September 2026. 2026 average premium.
- Allianz Care, Full medical underwriting versus moratorium health insurance, 20 July 2022, accessed 8 September 2026.
- Medicare.gov, Travel outside the U.S. and Avoid late enrollment penalties, accessed 8 September 2026.
- NHS, Planning your healthcare when living abroad, accessed 8 September 2026. Residence-based entitlement; S1 eligibility.
Entry ages, prices and terms are as published on the access date and change at each policy year. Distributor and broker sources are labelled; confirm any age rule with the insurer in writing. Published by Elev8 Insurance, an independent international insurance brokerage.